Annual Spring Show 2011 49th Annual Daffodil & Spring Show/Results

This was held on Saturday 7th of May and what a show we had! Despite the late date 7th May and the effect the warm spring weather had on daffodils and tulips we had a wonderful display of art and flowers. Brian Duncan showed his true class and professionalism in producing a fantastic display of daffodils.

The Show was held in St Columba's Hall Omagh and what a splendid it show it was - the hall was a sea of colour with aliums, azaleas, rhododendrons, potted plants, floral displays and childrens art work. Local members and non-members produced a tremendous range of flowers of a very high standard that brought a competitive edge when judging took place.

The Omagh Show attracts entries from gardening enthusiasts throughout Ireland with the Northern Ireland Group members playing a significant role with their magnificent entries in the daffodil classes. This year the Show had two special guests from California - Nancy Tackett and Ben Blake, who are members of the American Daffodil Society, brought their expertise to the show and helped with judging the many classes on display

The Childrens Section was well supported by parents and children and their creative artwork brought an added attraction and interest in the hall. The floral art section was equally well supported with attractive displays adding more colour with thier imaginative designs.

The prizes were presented by the Ulster Herald Editor Nigel McDonagh with the main prize of Best Bloom Award going to local daffodil breeder Brian Duncan. A full list of prizes and winners is shown below. Click on to the relevant tabs (pages) to learn more about our Society and how to join.

Daffodil Classes

Best Bloom in Show – Brian Duncan – Dick Bell Memorial Cup / Rosette

Section A - Open Classes:

Highest Ponts Winner – George Wilson – Omagh Daffodil Trophy

Class 1 – Winner – Robert Curry- Dr Hugh Watson Memorial Trophy

Class 2 – Winner – George Wilson – American Trophy

Class 3 - Winner - James Smyth - Voucher

Section B – Open Miniature and Special Classes:

Special Prize – George Wilson – Miniature Cup/Voucher

Best Exhibit - George Wilson - Rosette/Voucher

Section C - Amateur Senior Daffodil Classes:

Highest Points Winner - Maurice Kerr - Evelyn Bell Mem. Trophy

Second – James Smyth – Voucher

Section C2

Highest Points Winner – Maurice Kerr – Edinburgh Trophy

Second – James Smyth – Voucher

Best Bloom - Terry Haley - Voucher/Rosette

Best Exhibit – James Smyth – Voucher / Rosette

Section D - Intermediate Daffodil Classes:

Best Exhibit – Terry Haley – Omagh District Council Cup/Voucher

Highest Points – Ronnie Campbell – Intermediate Cup / Daffodils Bulbs

Second - Ronnie Campbell - Daffodil Bulbs

Best Bloom - Ronnie Campbell - Rosette / Voucher

Section E - Novice Daffodil Section

No Entries

Section F – Open General Flower Classes

Highest Points Winner - Uel Henderson - Glasgow Trophy / Daffodils

Best Exhibit - Victor Shannon - Rosette / Voucher

Section G - Novice General Flower Classes

Highest Points Winner - Eileen Turner - Thomas Bell Mem Trophy

Best Exhibit - Ruth Carson - Rosette / Voucher

Section H – Open Floral Art Classes

Best Exhibit - Georgina Colhoun - Rose Bowl / Rosette

Highest Points Winner - Georgina Colhoun - Voucher

Second - Mary Conway - Daffodil Bulbs

Section J – Intermediate Floral Art Classes

Best Exhibit – Audrey O'Neill – Anne Herbert Trophy / Rosette

Highest Points Winner - Mary Conway - Voucher

Section K - Novice Floral Art Classes

Best Exhibit - Mary Conway - Olive Parke Trophy / Rosette

Highest Points - Mary Conway - Voucher

School & Junior Classes Results: Section L Classes 147/ 148/ 149/ 150.

Total entries: 147. from 13 schools.

First Prize

147: Lara Turbitt: Loreto Convent Primary School, Omagh.

150: Rebecca Lavellee: Cooley Primary School, Sixmilecross.

First Prize and Best Exhibit: (double awards)

147/148: Dearbhla O'Reilly: Saint Mary's Primary School, Killyclogher

149/150: Clara Daley: Omagh Intergrated, Primary School.

Second Prize:

147: Caolan Brogan: Sacred Heart Primary School, Tattyreagh.

148: Hollie Wilson: Cooley Primary School, Sixmilecross.

149: Isobel Mc.Dowell: Cooley Primary School, Sixmilecross.

150: William Lavelle: Mc.Clintock Primary School, Seskinore.

Third Prize:

147: Ivanna Wallace: Gillygooley Primary School.

148: Anna Mc.Cormack: Gillygooley Primary School.

149: Rory Fox: Saint Mary's Primary School, Omagh.Killyclogher.

150: Emma Mc. Gurren: Saint Scire's Primary School, Trillick.

Special Award of Merit: Arvalee School Omagh: for their delightful group collage.

Highly Commended:

147: Lara Preston: Gortin Controlled Primary School.

148: Sophie Smyth: Dromore Primary School.

149: Devon Hamilton: Arvalee School Omagh.

150: Niamh Darcey: Sacred Heart Primary School Tattyreagh.

Commended:

147: Cliona-Jane Mc.Menamin: Gibson Primary School, Omagh.

Teacher whose pupils won most prizes: This was a tie result.

Miss Mc. Laran: Cooley Primary School.

Mr Sean Hurd: Saint Mary's Primary School.

Aproximately 1500 daffodil bulbs will be supplied. by local daffodil expert Mr. Brian Duncan to Omagh Gardening Society of which he is a member. These will be distributed in the Autumn to the participating schools and their pupils who won them .

Congratulations to the Winners. We thank all entrants for their delightful and creative productions.