## IN THE BEGINNING

WILLARD A. KING, Hot Springs, Arkansas

The first organized activity of the daffodil growers of America centered in the Garden Club of Virginia, the Washington Daffodil Society, and the Maryland Daffodil Society. As a result of the activity, shows, and publicity put out by these three clubs, the editor of Popular Gardening magazine, Paul Frese, felt that it was time to organize a national daffodil society, so he ran an article in the October, 1953, issue entitled "Who Will Join a Daffodil Society?" The response was so great he wrote a letter to some of the most active members of these three clubs urging them to proceed with the organization of a national daffodil society. One of the respondents was Judge Carey E. Quinn who promised to get an enthusiastic group of people together to, at least make an effort, get something started. Inasmuch as Carey and I were traveling all over the Mid-Atlantic states at this time judging daffodil shows, giving talks to various garden clubs, and because we were very close friends, he sold me on the idea that we should have the first meeting in my home because it was centrally located to the three most active daffodil clubs. He sent out invitations to a number of members of the three clubs whom he thought would be willing to come to such a meeting. Those attending this first meeting were Mrs. Lawrence R. Wharton, president of the Maryland Daffodil Society: Mrs. J. Robert Walker, chairman of the Garden Club of Virginia's test garden: Mrs. William A. Bridges of the Maryland Daffodil Society: Harry I. Tuggle of the Garden Club of Virginia, and of course, yours truly. He had to invite me as the meeting was being held in my living room. I might add that at this time. Carey was president of the Washington Daffodil Society.

After considerable discussion it was decided to call a meeting of those members of the three clubs who were thought to be most interested in organizing a national society. Mrs. George D. Watrous, Jr. of Washington, D. C. was responsible for getting such a group together and invited them to participate in an organizational meeting which would be part of the agenda of the Third Annual Daffodil Institute of the Washington Daffodil Society. This was held on April 9, 1954, at Woodward and Lothrop's department store in Chevy Chase. Maryland.

This meeting was called to order by Frederic P. Lee. Paul Frese was elected temporary chairman and Harry I. Tuggle was elected temporary secretary. The following were selected as the first Board of Directors:

Mrs. William A. Bridges Mrs. Frank Gnilkeep Mrs. Jesse Cox Joel Chandler Harris Paul F. Frese George W. Heath Jan deGraaff John R. Larus Frederic P. Lee Harry I. Tuggle Grant E. Mitsch Mrs. J. Robert Walker Mrs. Theodore Pratt Mrs. Lawrence R. Wharton Carey E. Quinn Dr. Freeman Weiss John C. Wister Fred F. Rockwell William H. Wood Dr. George L. Slate

On January 22, 1955, the Board of Directors adopted a constitution and by-laws which made the American Daffodil Society a recognized national horticultural society. At this same meeting the directors elected the following as the first permanent officers: President: Carey E. Quinn

First Vice-President: George S. Lee, Jr. Second Vice-President: Grant E. Mitsch

Secretary: Willis H. Wheeler Treasurer: Mrs. William A. Bridges

Editor: Freeman W. Weiss Registrar: Mrs. Walter Colquitt Librarian: Mrs. John S. Moats

Round Robin Director: Mrs. E. G. Sawyers

The final item at this most important meeting was the decision to hold the first national daffodil show on April 7, 1956, in honor of Guy L. Wilson, the dean of contemporary daffodil breeders.

The next great accomplishment of this fledgling society was the publishing of the first annual Yearbook and an accolade for this accomplishment goes to Dr. Freeman Weiss. He worked long and hard to bring this publication into being, and if my memory serves me correctly it came out in March of 1956.

On February 20, 1958, the Society was incorporated and the incorporation papers were signed by Margaret C. Lancaster, Roberta C. Watrous, and Freeman Weiss. Five days later on February 25, 1958, these same three signers of the Certificate of Incorporation set their hand and seal to the unanimously adopted by-laws which are now in effect.

At this same time the directors provided for nine Regional Vice-Presidents and six Directors-at-Large. The nine Regional Vice-Presidents were:

New England: Mrs. William B. Weaver, Jr.

Northeast: Mrs. John B. Capen

Middle Atlantic: Mrs. Lawrence R. Wharton

Midwest: Dr. R. C. Allen Southern: Mrs. Robert L. Hovis Southeast: E. Fay Pearce Southwest: Mrs. J. T. Foster Central: Mrs. R. O. Powelson

Far West: Mrs. Kenneth B. Anderson

The six Directors-at-Large were:

Harry I. Tuggle Orville W. Fay
Dr. John C. Wister John R. Larus
Mrs. Paul Sowell Mrs. Goethe Link

The Society was now faced with the new problem of becoming a viable national organization. The success of this effort was largely due to the dedicated missionary work of one Carey E. Quinn who made many trips to other daffodil centers, renewing old acquaintances, inspiring enthusiasm among the large growers and commercial nurseries. It is doubtful whether anyone in the country could have accomplished this mission so successfully.

There were others who contributed much to the success of this struggling young organization whose names do not appear above. People like B. Y. Morrison, founder of the American Horticultural Society; Dr. Tom D. Throckmorton; Mrs. Howard B. Bloomer, managing editor of the first Daffodil Bulletin; Charles Meehan, who masterminded the first National Daffodil Symposium; Dr. Charles R. Phillips, Managing Editor of the Yearbook; Hubert Fischer; Mrs. Ben M. Robertson; Eleanor Hill; Mrs. Floyd Harris; Mrs. Leslie H. Gray; E. C. Powell; Mrs. John Bozievich; Dr. Helen Scorgie; Mrs. Asa Watkins; and William Pannill.